Ryan Harvey Photography

Be Passionate…

NYC…

with one comment

Well, heres a post to fill you in with my recent trip.  I was originally suppose to meet with Rodney and his staff on Friday.  Unfortunately, due to some complications (getting on the wrong bus) I wasn’t able to make the interview time.  It was terrible.  I was talking with Stephen, Rodney’s studio manager, trying to figure out a way that I could get off the bus and wait for a different one and it went on and on. Too bad for me, there wasn’t a bus going anywhere close to where he was.  Feeling really really defeated and wanting to fly home that night, I called him once more apologizing like crazy and asking if there was anything I could do and he presented me with an incredible opportunity.  If I could be at the bus stop at 10 o’clock, Rodney would drive over and pick me up and we could meet just the two of us.  So I went home that night feeling really good about the next day and knowing I would do well.  

The morning of, I wake up at 5:50 and get ready and leave brooklyn at 6:15.  I arrive 2 hours early.  I know it sounds silly, but I wasn’t going to leave anything to chance.  I needed this interview.  He picks me up and go back to his house.  We talked for about 2 hours drinking coffee and laughing about things in our life.  He offers the internship to me after he tells me, “Ryan, I really like you, I think you could learn a lot up here”.  Done, I committed myself to be there whenever he needed me.  He dropped me off and the GW bridge, I shake his hand and say. “see you soon”.  At this point, I feel really good about living up here and working with him. 

The morning I am set to fly off, I decide to email a connection I had with golf magazine and see if maybe I could squeeze in an interview.  We email for about ten minutes back and forth and she decides she has enough time to meet with me if I can make it there by 11.  Long story short, I meet with her and another editor and they decide they want me on March 5th.  On top of that, I will be working with her and her husband on the weekends.  She also gave me another connection with another photographer who needed an assistant.

I still get nervous when I think of moving up there but I know that it will be good and I know its right.  Dreams I have had for almost 2 years now, became a reality in 2 days.  Now its time for new goals and dreams.  If you will, keep me in your thoughts and if you want to, encouraging words are always good to here.  God is good

Written by ryanjharvey

29/01/2009 at 1:06 am

Posted in Photography

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You will do well, Ryan. Always follow your dreams. Life is short.

    Julie Strater

    04/02/2009 at 9:35 pm


Leave a Reply

