Ryan Harvey Photography

Be Passionate…

apologies.

with 2 comments

So, I work 3 jobs(which none of them pay). I don’t have a digital camera.  I don’t have a dark room.  Those would be the 3 main reasons why I haven’t blogged in many a week, maybe even months.  So here is the breakdown:

 I work with Golf Magazine and as you know Rodney as well.  A few weeks ago, I was working in the Studio with a photographer names Schecter Lee.  He is a great still life shooter, who has wonderful character and would do all he can for anyone who needed help.  You can see his work almost every month in Golf Magazine.  Anyways, I was assisting him in the studio on a shoot when he started asking why I was here and what I wanted to do and maybe 284 other questions.  After we talked for a while and got to know each other, he decided he liked me, and wanted to help me out in any way possible.  

In the studio beside us, was a photographer named Ben Baker.  He is a portrait shooter and a great one too (www.benbakerphoto.com).  Schecter knew of him but didn’t know him.  But he had already decided that I should meet him and try to assist for him.  So at the end of our shoot, he walked right up to Ben and said, “Hey Ben, I am Schecter Lee and this is Ryan Harvey.  We wanted to know if you had any shoots coming up the Ryan could help you on.”  And that was basically it.  He said, sure come on and we exchanged emails and phone numbers.  

Ben invited me on a shoot the next week and told me it was quite big and I need to be prepared for a long 2 days.  It was for the (Red) Campaign and Fortune Magazine.  Needless to say, a lot of celebrities and powerful people would be there.  I knew that he used all Profoto gear and coming from RCC, of course we don’t have any.  So for the next week, I watched videos and did research on how to set up, use, and break down Profoto gear, so when I was working I wouldn’t seem completely dumb.

The shoot was amazing. Period.  If you read this far and want to know about it, I will tell you 

From there, Ben and I have stayed in touch and I am continuing to help him with his work.  Hopefully things will work out up here and I get a job assisting full time.  

Things are going well with Rodney too.  His book is coming along well, as well as planning exhibitions and other shoots in the near future.  He likes me, even though he drills me about everything in my life every time we are together.  

I will try to blog more in the future to keep whoever reads this informed about my life, even if there aren’t any photographs. 

Written by ryanjharvey

15/04/2009 at 11:10 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like you are meeting awesome people and having amazing experiences! You deserve it Ryan. Keep in touch, we miss you in NC!

    jessica seawell

    16/04/2009 at 12:25 am

  2. Hi Ryan,

    I am just came across some photos in Golf Magazine that Schecter Lee photographed. I noticed that he doesn’t have a website and I have been unsuccessful in my google search, but did come across your blog. He sounds like a great photographer to work with – do you by any chance know how I can contact him?
    Any info would be greatly helpful.

    Thanks in advance,
    Susam

    Susan

    18/02/2011 at 6:04 am


Leave a Reply

